14 August 2017

Minik Thorleif Rosing receives the Hans Christian Ørsted Award 2017


The award is presented for research having led to new understandings regarding life and the Earth’s atmosphere billions of years ago.

Professor Minik Rosing

Professor Minik Rosing

The world-renowned Greenlandic geologisk Minik Rosing, professor at the Natural History Museum, University of Copenhagen, is receiving the Hans Christian Ørsted Award 2017 on Monday the 14th of August.

The award is presented on Ørsted’s 240th anniversary during a ceremony at Ørstedpavillonen, Havnegade 92 in Rudkøbing, Langeland at 10:00 am.

The 10.000 dkk award comes with a diploma and an art sculpture by the name of “Sommerfugl” (“Butterfly”) crafted by the artist Sabine Majus from Langeland.

According to the award committee, the award is granted Minik Rosing for the following reasons:

- The award is given to Minik Thorleif Rosing for his internationally recognized research, which has led to a new understanding of life and of the Earth’s atmosphere billions of years ago. Minik Rosing has, through analysis of the oldest known sediments on Earth – found at Isua, close to Nuuk – shown that photosynthesis was already proceeding 3,8 billion years ago.

- The research of Minik Thorleif Rosing has changed the perception of the Earth’s climate at that time, since he has refuted the theory that the Earth was kept warm back then due to an extreme greenhouse effect. On the contrary, Minik Rosing has shown that the CO2 level back then was similar to todays’.

- Furthermore, the award is given on the basis of Minik Rosing’s efforts towards conveying science. Minik Rosing was in 2006 expedition leader on the Galathea 3 expedition, and his effort to spread enthusiasm concerning science in the public is remarkable.

The H.C. Ørsted award, which is granted annually, was introduced in 2013 by H.C. Ørstedselskabet and the Municipality of Langeland, and it is awarded in appreciation of having contributed towards H.C. Ørsted’s perception of science and spirit as being two sides of the same coin.

In the selection process the contribution of the recipient towards developing the natural sciences as well as making it accessible for the public has been emphasized.

Award committee

The recipient is appointed by an award committee consisting of:

  • Professor Jacob Østergaard, Technical University of Denmark (chairman of the award committee)
  • Professor Johannes Nørregaard Frandsen, University of Southern Denmark
  • Former minister Bertel Haarder, the Danish parliament
  • CEO Kim Hansen, Langeland Power Supply
  • Major Bjarne Nielsen, Municipality of Langeland
  • Chairman of H.C. Ørstedselskabet, Troels Krøyer.

Further contact information:

Professor Jacob Østergaard, chairman of the award committee, telephone: +45 25 13 05 01 or Troels Krøyer, chairman of H.C. Ørstedselskabet, telephone: +45 51 23 20 52.